Release date: December 21, 2017

Winter Poems is the first set of new original music composed and recorded during Iñaki Sandoval’s residence in Estonia. From short beautiful pieces (“Four Nocturnes”) to more elaborated and complex works (“Ravel Painting the Snow, Images”) the whole album exhales lyrism and introspection, where silence is the most relevant element of the music. The inspiration for this music comes mainly from the immense beautifulness of the Estonian winter and nature; the silence at the heart of the forest where not even the birds sing during the winter season; the sound of the wind skimming the snow, the darkness… The three albums of the trilogy have been conceived as a path for the search and understanding of harmony and music textures in a deep and holistic way. There is also a tribute to the music of Ravel and Debussy, and the minimalism of Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, all present during the album.

This session was recorded on a Steinway & Sons grand piano at Arkaadia during the long nights of the winter of 2017-2018 in Viljandi, Estonia. All music composed and performed by Iñaki Sandoval.